2. Jan, 2018

2017 Player of the Year Award

Indonesia’s World No. 1 men’s doubles pair Kevin Sanjaya Sukamuljo/Marcus Fernaldi Gideon received a boost ahead of the 2017 World Superseries Finals after they were awarded “Male Player of the Year” from Badminton World Federation (BWF) at the BWF World Super Series Finals 2017.

Sukamuljo/Gideon attracted the most vote from the BWF Awards Commission ahead of three other nominees – Denmark’s Viktor Axelsen, India’s Kidambi Srikanth and China’s Zheng Siwei.

The Indonesian pair has enjoyed a successful year with six Superseries titles – All England, India Open, Malaysia Open, Japan Open, China Open, Hong Kong Open – as well as a runners-up at Korea Open and Denmark Open.